At The Sound Of Your Name

Recently, American Idol performed at some kind of charity concert (sorry to my american readers – I’m not up to date with the ins and outs of your reality TV).

Surprisingly though, they performed “Shout to the Lord”, a song by our very own Aussie Hillsong-er Darlene Zschech, and more importantly, a song which praises Jesus Chirst as Lord and King. Or at least is supposed to. 

Have a listen. A close listen

Notice anything? The words should sing: “My Jesus, My Saviour”. American Idol has switched them with “My Shepherd, My Saviour”. It’s kinda sad that TV stations are scared to say Jesus name, but it’s suprising that they sang a worship song at all.

However, without Jesus our faith is nothing, Christianity is nothing, and our lives are nothing, and that song becomes nothing – just another love song.

It kind of become ironic with the Idols sing “Mountains bow down and the seas will roar at the sound of your name” – when they purposely don’t mention His Name.

Your thoughts?

This was brought to my attention through this post: http://stevenjcamp.blogspot.com/2008/04/american-idol-shouts-to-who-jesus-is.html. Give it a read for a more in-depth analysis of what happened.

paul.

About this entry